The Helio Sequence Announce New Album Due In May, Listen To New Song

The Helio Sequence will be releasing their sixth studio album, S/T, on May 18 and 19 worldwide via Sub Pop.  Stereogum premiered its lead off track “Stoic Resemblance” accompanied by an animated visual.  In a press release the band detail their new album:

The self-titled sixth album by The Helio Sequence began with a friendly competition. Several of the duo’s friends within the Portland, Oregon music scene had been playing “The 20-Song Game.” The rules were simple, playful and ambitious: Songwriters would arrive in their studios at prearranged times and spend all day recording 20 complete songs. When they were finished, they’d have a party, listen to the results and talk about the process—of taking the good with the bad, of letting creativity push past constraint, of simply making music in the moment. Brandon Summers and Benjamin Weikel took the spirit of the “The 20-Song Game” to heart, and forged ahead writing a new record.


The Helio Sequence:

01 “Battle Lines”
02 “Stoic Resemblance”
03 “Red Shifting”
04 “Upward Mobility”
05 “Leave Or Be Yours”
06 “Deuces”
07 “Inconsequential Ties”
08 “Seven Hours”
09 “Phantom Shore”
10 “Never Going Back”

The Helio Sequence:



Related articles