Real Estate’s Martin Courtney Announces Debut Solo LP, Many Moons


Following his bandmate’s lead, every original member in Real Estate now has his own solo side project.  Martin Courtney, Real Estate frontman, has announced his debut solo album titled, Many Moons.  It is out October 30 via Domino.  The album was produced by Jarvis Taveniere of Woods, who also plays on the record along with Julian Lynch and Matt Kallman.  That’s the cover art above, and watch the video for the first single, “Northern Highway”, below.


Many Moons is a bright, lush, 10-song collection of soft psychedelia that recalls the Kinks and Big Star even as it probes the depths of Courtney’s own life as a family man, father, and touring musician. The album is squinting-at-the-sun bright, full of subtle introspection, an elliptical document of Courtney’s transition into family life and fatherhood, largely written while he was on the road touring Atlas, Real Estate’s third full length release.


Many Moons

1. Awake
2. Foto
3. Vestiges
4. Before We Begin
5. Northern Highway
6. Many Moons
7. Asleep
8. Little Blue
9. Focus
10. Airport Bar

Martin Courtney: